TL;DR
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Cyprus plans to add 94 public fast-charging points by 2028 through a project financed under its national Recovery and Resilience Plan. The programme includes 76 chargers rated at 150 kW for passenger cars and 18 heavy-vehicle chargers rated from 200 to 350 kW; 10 points have already been installed.
Cyprus’s Ministry of Transport plans to add 94 public fast-charging points by 2028, expanding the island’s charging network for passenger cars and heavy commercial vehicles. The project is estimated to cost about €10 million and is financed through the national Recovery and Resilience Plan; 10 of the planned points have already been installed.
The programme divides the planned infrastructure between 76 passenger-car charging points, each with a stated capacity of 150 kW, and 18 points for heavy-duty vehicles, with power ratings ranging from 200 to 350 kW. The transport ministry announced the plan, according to the report published by Electrive on October 26, 2026.
The first 10 fast-charging points have been installed at publicly accessible locations for a reported €840,660. Five are at hospitals in Nicosia, Larnaca, Limassol, Kyperounta and Famagusta. Other sites include bus terminals and archaeological locations. The source does not specify the capacity or exact opening date of each installed point.
Cyprus currently has 384 publicly accessible charging stations across 221 locations, according to the report. It lists 76 stations in Nicosia, 57 in Limassol, 32 in Paphos, 29 in Larnaca and 27 in Famagusta. Those city figures add up to 221, not 384, and the source does not explain whether the counts refer to different units or coverage categories.
More Fast Charging for Cars and Trucks
The expansion would add fast-charging capacity to an existing network that the report counts at 384 publicly accessible stations. The new chargers’ specified power ratings could allow compatible vehicles to charge faster than at lower-powered equipment, though actual charging times depend on vehicle capability, battery conditions and site performance. The report does not provide estimated charging times.
The inclusion of 18 heavy-vehicle points gives the programme a scope beyond private cars. Higher-powered charging could support commercial operators looking to charge vehicles on public routes or at service locations. The source, however, does not say which vehicle types or transport corridors will receive the chargers, or how many trucks are expected to use them.
Public sites at hospitals, bus terminals and archaeological locations place some chargers near destinations used by residents, visitors and transport services. The locations may broaden access, but the project’s effect on EV use will depend on installation progress, reliable operation, pricing and the availability of compatible vehicles. None of those outcomes is quantified in the announcement.
Products Worth Considering

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, 240V, Indoor/Outdoor, 25‑Foot Flexible Cable, NEMA 14‑50 Plug (White)

Autel Home EV Charger up to 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2 Charger with 25 ft Cable

Autel 40A Level 2 EV Charger, 240V NEMA 14-50 J1772, WiFi, 25ft Cable
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Rollout Is Scheduled
The new points are part of Cyprus’s national Recovery and Resilience Plan, the funding framework identified for the programme. Its estimated overall cost is about €10 million. The report does not provide a full breakdown of spending by charger type, site, construction or operation.
The schedule is phased. The source says 16 passenger-car points are planned for 2026, followed by 48 for passenger cars and 12 for commercial vehicles in 2027. The remaining points are due in 2028. The article does not specify how many of the 10 already installed count toward the 2026 target, so the stated annual figures should not be treated as a confirmed tally of additional installations beyond those already in place.
Before the expansion, the reported public network comprised 384 stations at 221 locations. The announced 94 points are charging points, while the existing figure is given as stations; the source does not define how these units relate to one another. That distinction matters when comparing the announced programme with the current network total.
Installation Dates and Site Details
The announcement sets a target of completing the rollout by 2028, but no individual installation dates or full site list are provided. It is not clear which locations will receive the remaining 84 points, how the programme will be divided geographically, or whether all planned sites have secured permits and grid connections.
The report does not identify the contractor or operators responsible for installation and maintenance, give a final timetable for opening the 10 installed points, or explain how users will pay and access them. It also does not say whether the €10 million estimate includes ongoing operating costs. The different units used for the existing network and planned expansion are not reconciled in the source.
Milestones Through 2028
The next reported milestone is the planned installation of 16 passenger-car charging points in 2026. The programme then calls for 48 passenger-car and 12 commercial-vehicle points in 2027, with the remainder scheduled for 2028. These are announced plans, not confirmation that the future installations have been completed.
Progress can be assessed against the published schedule as new sites are identified and opened. Further details from the ministry would clarify where the chargers will be located, how the 10 completed points fit into the annual totals, and when the public can use them. The source gives no later progress update or revised deadline.
Key Questions
How many new charging points does Cyprus plan to install?
The programme covers 94 new public fast-charging points, with completion planned by 2028.
What types of vehicles will the chargers serve?
The plan includes 76 passenger-car points rated at 150 kW and 18 heavy-duty vehicle points with power ratings from 200 to 350 kW.
How much will the programme cost?
The project’s estimated cost is about €10 million. The first 10 installed points were reported to have cost €840,660.
Where are the charging points being installed?
Five of the first 10 are at hospitals in Nicosia, Larnaca, Limassol, Kyperounta and Famagusta. Other initial locations include bus terminals and archaeological sites. A complete list of future sites has not been provided.
When will the full network expansion be completed?
The stated target is 2028. The report gives planned installation totals for 2026 and 2027, but individual dates and the full 2028 schedule are not specified.
Source: electrive.com
