Powerdot And Hubject Bring Plug & Charge To 7,000 Charge Points In Europe
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on garage and car supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Powerdot has integrated with Hubject’s Plug & Charge ecosystem, making more than 7,000 of its charging points in France, Spain, Belgium and Poland compatible with the technology. Drivers with compatible vehicles can authenticate and start charging by plugging in, without a separate app or RFID card at the point of use. The companies have not specified which vehicle models or charging locations are supported.

Powerdot and Hubject have brought Plug & Charge capability to more than 7,000 Powerdot charge points in France, Spain, Belgium and Poland. The integration lets drivers with compatible vehicles authenticate automatically when they connect to a charger, extending app-free charging across a large part of Powerdot’s European network.

Powerdot operates about 13,000 charging points at 2,400 locations in Europe, according to the company information reported by Charged EVs. The newly compatible points represent more than half of its network, and are located in four countries: France, Spain, Belgium and Poland. The announcement does not give a site-by-site list or say when additional markets might be added.

The integration uses Hubject’s public key infrastructure to authenticate digital certificates exchanged among an electric vehicle, charging equipment and mobility service providers. Plug & Charge is based on the ISO 15118 standard, which supports communication between vehicles and chargers. At a compatible station, drivers can connect the vehicle and have the charging session authenticated without manually using a charging app or RFID card for that step.

Powerdot’s network focuses on destination charging at places where drivers may leave a car parked for longer periods, including supermarkets, shopping centers and restaurants. The company says its network is designed to work with external mobility platforms, e-mobility service providers and vehicle manufacturers rather than requiring drivers to use a proprietary Powerdot app.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced October 28, 2026
The developmentPowerdot and Hubject have enabled Plug & Charge at more than 7,000 Powerdot charge points across four European countries.

Simpler Access Across Four Markets

For drivers, Plug & Charge can remove a separate authentication step at participating chargers: instead of opening an app or presenting an RFID card, a compatible vehicle can identify itself through the digital credentials used by the system. That may be particularly useful at destination sites, where drivers often want to begin charging and continue with their visit. Compatibility is not universal, however; the benefit depends on both the vehicle and the charging point supporting the required setup.

The deployment also adds Plug & Charge coverage to a substantial share of a multi-country charging network. For operators and service providers, the integration connects charging infrastructure, vehicle credentials and mobility services through a shared authentication system. Hubject CEO Christian Hahn said wider operator participation could help move the industry toward mass EV adoption. That is the company’s view of the technology’s potential, not evidence in this announcement of a measured effect on EV sales or charging use.

Products Worth Considering

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)

DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)

Chemical Guys HOL123 Car Cleaning Kit – 14-Item Interior & Exterior Detailing Set

Chemical Guys HOL123 Car Cleaning Kit – 14-Item Interior & Exterior Detailing Set

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How Powerdot’s Network Fits

Powerdot is a Portugal-based charging operator whose reported footprint spans about 13,000 points across Europe. Its emphasis on commercial destinations means its charging locations are associated with everyday stops rather than solely with highway travel. The company describes its network as open to integration with other platforms and services, a model intended to give drivers options for accessing charging.

Plug & Charge is one approach to charging authentication, not a replacement for every payment or roaming arrangement. The vehicle and charger exchange secure credentials, while service providers may still be involved in handling a customer’s charging account. The source report describes the technology as based on ISO 15118 and says Hubject’s public key infrastructure supports the certificate exchange. It does not provide technical details about payment processing, pricing or how sessions appear in a driver’s existing service.

“Every operator that brings Plug & Charge to its network moves the industry closer to mass EV adoption, and Powerdot’s reach across Europe is a meaningful step in that direction.”

— Christian Hahn, Hubject CEO

Vehicle and Site Compatibility Details

The announcement identifies the four countries and total number of compatible points, but does not list the specific stations or explain how drivers can check whether an individual charger supports Plug & Charge. It also does not name compatible vehicle models, detail any account or enrollment requirements, or say whether drivers need to activate the feature through their carmaker or mobility provider.

The companies have not said whether the integration will extend to Powerdot points in other European countries, or provided a rollout schedule for additional locations. The reported total reflects the announcement; the source does not provide independent verification or a breakdown by country.

More Details Needed for Drivers

Drivers who want to use the service will need to check whether their vehicle, charging account and chosen Powerdot location support Plug & Charge. Powerdot’s announcement, as reported by Charged EVs, does not specify a public compatibility checker or provide a list of eligible vehicle models and sites. Those details would clarify how customers can identify and activate the service before arriving.

No further rollout date is given for other countries or the rest of Powerdot’s network. Any expansion, as well as additional information on access and payment arrangements, remains for Powerdot and Hubject to announce.

Key Questions

What did Powerdot and Hubject announce?

They announced that more than 7,000 Powerdot charging points support Plug & Charge through an integration with Hubject’s ecosystem.

Where is Plug & Charge available on the Powerdot network?

The announcement names Powerdot points in France, Spain, Belgium and Poland. It does not provide a list of individual compatible sites.

How does Plug & Charge work?

At a compatible charger, a compatible vehicle exchanges secure digital credentials with the charging system to authenticate a session when plugged in. The technology is based on ISO 15118.

Do drivers need a Powerdot app?

Powerdot says its network does not require a proprietary Powerdot app and is designed to work with external mobility platforms and services. The announcement does not spell out account or payment requirements for Plug & Charge.

Which cars can use the new service?

The companies have not named compatible vehicle models. Drivers will need to confirm that their vehicle and charging service support Plug & Charge and that the specific Powerdot point is enabled.

Source: chargedevs.com

You May Also Like

unable to connect to wallet services

Many users report being unable to connect to wallet services, including Apple Pay and Apple Wallet, causing widespread disruptions.

Fubo quietly raises prices. Is it still worth considering over YouTube TV?

Fubo has quietly increased its subscription prices. This raises questions about its value compared to YouTube TV for consumers considering streaming options.

Mechanic Totals Woman’s Audi On ‘Unauthorized’ Test Drive. Is It Her Fault For Giving Him The Keys?

A Hollywood Audi owner says a shop employee crashed her Q5 after taking it home. The shop says its insurer is handling the matter.

VW Postpones US Return Of The ID. Buzz To 2028

Search and coverage interest in a claimed 2028 U.S. return for Volkswagen’s ID. Buzz is rising, but the reported delay is unverified.