TL;DR
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
A UK product safety report says a GEARLASSO vehicle battery charger sold via Amazon presents a serious fire risk because its supply cord may overheat and its mains plug lacks required safety features. Authorities report that the import was rejected at the border. The report does not say whether units already reached customers or whether a recall or other sales action has followed.
A UK product safety report says the GEARLASSO Vehicle Battery Charger, sold via Amazon, presents a serious risk of fire and reports that its import was rejected at the border. The hazards include a supply cord that may overheat and a mains plug that does not meet UK requirements; the report does not state whether any units were sold to consumers in the UK.
The report identifies the product as model 10006902, a portable charger intended for 12 to 24-volt vehicle batteries, including use with electric vehicles. It lists China as the country of origin and gives Amazon product carton identifiers X002FPMHKR and FBA15M1ZXN2J2U000003. The product’s SKU is also listed as 10006902.
According to the report, excessive resistance in the supply cord could cause the cable to overheat, creating a fire hazard. The mains plug also fails to meet the marking and dimensional requirements of BS 1363 and does not have an appropriate fuse link. The report says a compliant fuse is needed to support safe operation under fault conditions; without one, the plug could overheat or explode.
The report says improvements are also needed to the charger’s warnings, markings and instructions. It finds that the product does not meet the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 or the Plugs and Sockets (Safety) Regulations 1994. The stated corrective action is that the import was rejected at the border; the notice does not describe a consumer recall or say that the product was removed from Amazon.
Fire Risks in Charger Components
The reported defects concern parts that carry mains electricity: the power cord and plug. Overheating in either component can create a fire hazard, while the missing appropriate fuse link means the plug lacks a specified protective feature for fault conditions. This makes the report relevant to anyone who may have bought or stored this charger, even though the notice does not confirm sales to UK customers.
The border rejection is a stated intervention aimed at preventing the reported import from entering the market. It is not, by itself, evidence that every unit has been stopped, that previously sold units have been located, or that consumers have received a warning. Readers who recognize the model or identifiers should check the product details and seek current guidance from the seller or relevant UK authorities rather than assume the border action covered products already in circulation.
Products Worth Considering

Autel MaxiCharger Level 2 EV Charger, 40A, 240V, 25-Foot Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug

DEWALT 20V MAX 3-Tool Brushless Power Tool Combo Kit with Drill, Impact Driver, Oscillating Tool, 3 Batteries, and Charger (DCK360D3)

DEWALT 20V MAX 5-Tool Cordless Combo Kit with Drill, Impact Driver, Saws, Oscillating Multi-Tool, Batteries, Charger, and Bag (DCK551D1M1)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Product Details and UK Standards
The notice is a Product Safety Report published on GOV.UK and carries notification number 2610-0131. It says the notification came from Local Authority Trading Standards. The report describes the charger as a portable device for 12 to 24-volt batteries and provides model and carton identifiers intended to help distinguish the product.
The cited UK rules address electrical equipment and the safety of plugs and sockets. The report’s findings concern both the charger’s electrical construction and the information provided with it: the cord may overheat, the plug lacks required characteristics and a suitable fuse link, and its warnings and instructions need improvement. These are the findings stated in the report; it does not provide test measurements, identify a specific incident involving injury or fire, or explain how many chargers were assessed.
“The product presents a serious risk of fire”
— UK product safety report, summary
Sales and Consumer Actions Unclear
The report does not say when it was published, how many units were involved, or whether any chargers reached UK consumers before the import was rejected. It also does not say whether Amazon has removed the listing, whether the seller has contacted buyers, or whether a recall or refund process exists. The notice names Amazon as the sales channel but does not establish the number or location of customers.
No fires, injuries or other incidents are described in the supplied report. That absence of information should not be read as confirmation that no incidents occurred. The report also does not specify what additional steps, if any, authorities or the seller may take after the border action.
Check Identifiers and Official Updates
Consumers who have a charger marked GEARLASSO or model 10006902 can compare it with the identifiers in the GOV.UK notice and consult the report’s product image and PDF. Because the report describes a serious electrical fire risk, people who believe they own the product should avoid relying on it while they seek instructions from the seller or relevant UK product safety authorities. The notice itself does not set out a specific consumer remedy.
Further developments would clarify whether the product listing was removed, whether customers are being contacted and whether any further corrective action is planned. Until such information is available, the confirmed action remains the rejection of the import at the border; the status of any units that may already have been sold is not stated.
Key Questions
Which GEARLASSO charger is named in the report?
The report identifies model 10006902, SKU 10006902, and lists Amazon carton identifiers X002FPMHKR and FBA15M1ZXN2J2U000003.
What hazards did the report identify?
It says excessive resistance in the supply cord may cause overheating and fire. It also says the mains plug does not meet BS 1363 marking and dimensional requirements and lacks an appropriate fuse link, creating a risk that the plug could overheat or explode under fault conditions.
What action was taken?
The report states that the import was rejected at the border. It does not report a recall, refund offer or removal of the Amazon listing.
Does the notice say whether customers bought the charger?
No. The notice identifies Amazon as the sales channel but does not say whether units reached UK consumers or how many were involved.
What should someone do if they own this charger?
Check the product against the model and carton identifiers in the official notice, and contact the seller or UK product safety authorities for current instructions. The report identifies a serious fire risk but does not specify a consumer remedy.
Source: gov.uk
